hadatha background
Map Unavailable

24/01/2017 - 26/01/2017
Toute la journée

Evénement


FortyFourth Session

Working Paper

From modernity tomodernities

24-26 January 2017

Modernity, as a concept, is still being researched, in terms of its fundamentals and implications in the context of evolving human societies, as well as with respect to the dynamic intellectual, social and economic transformations occurring in the world due, precisely, to modernity.

Needless to say, various civilizations, including the Greek, ancient Chinese, Arab, European, American and others civilizations contributed, along with religions, in no small measure and over the long course of their existence, to the progress of mankind and to the emergence of new ideas at each time period. For this reason, and from time to time, there has been a debate about the new and the old. However, the concept of modernity is not limited to what is new. In fact, it refers to a full-fledged system that includes ideology, values, political and social organization and the perception of the world in general.  The latter changed with the «great transformation» which occurred in the era of European Renaissance, as the world moved from a farming, feudal system to an industrial capitalist society. A new intellectual system emerged and was reinforced by the ideas of the Enlightenment. This brought about a change in the way the individual and society were perceived. Thus, society came to be known as an entity built on individuals who are free and equal. The human mind became the absolute ‘master’ of the universe, capable of controlling the environment and of imposing the rule of law.

Without attempting to reconstruct the sum of theoretical and intellectual production on modernity, one may say that it can be considered as a phase in Europe’s modern history. It represents an abrupt social transformation which profoundly affected social, economic and cultural structures and lifestyles, not just the way Western societies were organized, but also in terms of their relations with other communities. Indeed, the knowledge and skills gained by Western societies, and the scientific discoveries they made, enabled the West to achieve industrial progress and to expand geographically, thus disseminating its civilization – albeit in differentiated ways – to reach other communities that were culturally, economically and socially different. For this reason, some thinkers have been questioning modernity, relying on a post-modernity ideology.

However, the link in modernity, between what is economic, political and social on the one hand, and what is legal and normative on the other – and which makes it a normative system – has not always been clearly established in all communities, including in Western societies themselves, given the gap in the representation of modernity and its interpretation. Moreover, modernity and modernism can overlap when one seeks to introduce elements and concepts which are new and modern into what is traditional.

It is a fact that in communities which face the dual pressure of their heritage and of modernity there have been cases where the argument over modernity affected their cultural and political elites. As a result, some members of the elite embraced modernity in the name of universalism, while others advocated a commitment to traditions in the name of cultural specificity, and still others sought to reconcile modernity and tradition. These representation patterns have given rise to flexible interpretations as much as to sharp controversy.

In many societies, embracing modernity was a selective exercise it concerned form rather than substance. This has led to some abnormal phenomena, such as embracing technology but not the rational thought that created it, as is the case with extremist religious movements which readily use information technology but do not endorse the modernity of the minds that developed that technology. Similarly, we notice that modern industrial products are readily used, but at the same time there is much conservatism about the heritage of the past or the authoritarian relationship between men and women, both of which are incompatible with the values underpinning modernity, development and progress.

Modernity can sometimes be criticized – even rejected – in some developing communities because it undermines the terms of reference of the individual regarding his or her heritage, his or her perceptions about such issues as the sense of belonging, identity, the place of religion and the values relating to the heritage. This gives rise to several questions in these communities. Can one talk about modernity without addressing the ability of the individual to benefit from it? Poverty, the unequal distribution of wealth, poor access to education and the vulnerability from which a large number of the world›s population is suffering in many developing societies prevent people from enjoying their right to freedom of choice. In fact, they have no other choice but to give in to a traditional mode of life, since modernity is not accessible to them given the material, social and cultural costs it involves.

Modernity impacts the entire universe. However, an excess of modernity has led to some paradoxical situations. Whereas modernity has contributed to the progress of mankind, there have also been risks and perils resulting from scientific and technological progress, as shown by genetic manipulation, environmental pollution, the unsustainable use of natural resources, the nuclear arms industry and other phenomena that have been haunting humanity as well as the moral conscience of mankind.

To examine and discuss the above issues, the Academy of the Kingdom of Morocco will hold its forty-fourth session on the theme «From modernity tomodernities». The aim will be to highlight some of the paradoxical manifestations of modernity, discuss the issues arising from modernity as a normative system, and examine the phenomena arising from modernity due its excesses, to the confusion with renewal or to the clash with traditions and various forms of the heritage. In view of the above, scholars have asking questions about what optimal modernity should be like – a modernity which enables individuals and communities to achieve progress in a globalized world they have been wondering about its implications, which create a sense of confusion and highlight a growing need for security and certainty, in a world fraught with risks.

This session will revolve around the following themes:

  1. Modernity: the theoretical and intellectual frame of reference
  2. Representations of modernity and modernism
  3. Modernity and the heritage: a clash of interpretations
  4. Moroccan thought and modernity
  5. Modernity and religion
  6. Modernity, law and institutions
  7. Implications of modernity and social issues
  8. Modernity and the status of women
  9. Modernity and the issue of values
  10. Art, creativity and postmodernism.

hadatha background
Carte non disponible

24/01/2017 - 26/01/2017
Toute la journée

Evénement


QuaranteQuatrième Session

Document de travail

De la Modernité aux Modernités

24-26 janvier 2017

Interroger la modernité s’avère plus que jamais nécessaire. Cette notion qui fait débat soulève bien des questionnements et convoque bien des recherches tant dans l’acception à redéfinir que dans les implications qu’elle suscite sur l’évolution des sociétés. A fil de l’histoire, les transformations intellectuelles, sociales et économiques participent à la dynamique du monde, tributaire d’une modernité à cerner au plus près de la pertinence des enjeux contemporains.

Chaque époque construit son épopée. Depuis la nuit des temps, les civilisations se succèdent et s’entrecroisent. Qu’elles soient grecques, chinoises, arabes, européennes ou américaines par exemple, l’Histoire enregistre leur diversité et leur héritage sur les religions et les cultures. Chaque fois, de nouveaux défis sont relevés par l’humanité qui invente des concepts, des propos inédits pour couvrir la réalité à décrire entre l’ancien et le nouveau. S’il est couru que modernité est souvent réduite à nouveauté, il n’en demeure pas moins que cette notion mérite plus de prudence et d’attention dans l’exercice politique et social, fondé sur un système de valeurs intellectuelles et une vision du monde bâtie sur l’édifice de la « grande mutation » survenue durant la renaissance européenne. En effet, le passage de la société agraire et féodale à une société industrielle et capitaliste marque l’avènement d’un modèle de pensée fortement inspiré de la philosophie des Lumières. Cette avancée technologique entraine un changement des mentalités et de la société qui aspire à être désormais composée d’individus libres et égaux en droit et conscients du devoir de contrôler et de préserver l’environnement.

Sans revenir sur toute la littérature consacrée à l’influence incontestable des mutations majeures de l’histoire récente de l’Europe, la société occidentale a façonné de nouvelles structures économiques et culturelles qui ont transformé peu à peu le mode de vie de ses citoyens et partant de leurs relations avec les autres contrées du monde. En effet, forte de ses découvertes scientifiques et à la pointe du progrès industriel, l’Europe affiche alors une propension à l’expansion géographique censée lui permettre d’étendre sa civilisation aux sociétés étrangères dont les structures culturelles, économiques et sociales sont totalement différentes. Afin de réfléchir à cette réalité et de la décrire, des penseurs opposent au terme de modernité celui de postmodernité.

Cependant, quelle que soit la société où il s’exerce, occidentale ou autre, le vecteur qui relie les dimensions économique, politique et sociale aux valeurs juridiques et éthiques et qui trace le système normatif de la modernité, a souvent manqué de lignes claires et précises compte tenu du hiatus entre représentation et interprétation de la notion de modernité. De plus, la tendance à inclure le nouveau dans le traditionnel augmente le risque de confondre modernité avec modernisation.

En effet, confrontées aux effets inéluctables de la modernisation, les sociétés qui souhaitent sauvegarder vaille que vaille leurs traditions, traduisent leurs craintes et leurs appréhensions dans les vives luttes rhétoriques que se livrent leurs élites politiques et intellectuelles. A celles qui prônent l’apologie de la modernité au nom de l’universalité, s’opposent celles qui revendiquent la préservation de la tradition au nom de la spécificité culturelle. D’autres, au nom du principe de tolérance, espèrent atténuer l’irréductible dichotomie.

Si l’introduction de la modernité est effective dans la plupart des sociétés contemporaines, elle a d’abord été accomplie de façon partielle et approximative. Ainsi, les effets pervers sont-ils notables dans bon nombre de situations telles l’adoption de la technologie sans la pensée rationnelle qui l’a engendrée ou l’apparition de mouvements religieux extrémistes qui emploient les moyens technologiques modernes afin de consolider le retour à une tradition obsolète et phallocrate en totale contradiction avec les valeurs du développement et du progrès.

Les sociétés en développement manifestent quelques réticences à adopter la modernité souvent accusée d’altérer les repères traditionnels de l’individu et de perturber sa représentation de l’appartenance à la communauté religieuse et culturelle garante de l’identité en partage. Pour légitime que soit ce principe de précaution de la sauvegarde des valeurs ancestrales, il n’en reste pas moins qu’une question essentielle vaut d’être posée. Quelle modernité pour quels bénéfices humains? Certes, le partage inéquitable des richesses, les défaillances de l’éducation et de l’enseignement, la vulnérabilité du progrès dans les sociétés en développement, privent les hommes et les femmes de l’exercice de leur liberté de choix. L’être humain dans ce cas-là ne peut que subir la loi du quotidien et la modernité au coût matériel, social et culturel hors d’atteinte pour lui, demeure une luxueuse et inaccessible velléité.

La singularité de la modernité est de reposer sur un paradoxe. La modernité a une portée universelle puisqu’elle permet au monde d’évoluer grâce aux découvertes scientifiques mais ces mêmes acquis menacent l’écosystème de la planète : manipulations génétiques, pollution, exploitation effrénée des ressources naturelles, course aux armes chimiques, etc. Tout ce non-respect de l’équilibre de l’environnement illustre pour l’Homme, l’exigence du devoir de conscience et la responsabilité pour le monde de demain.

C’est précisément pour évoquer toutes ces questions et bien d’autres encore, que l’Académie du Royaume du Maroc a choisi pour sa quarante-quatrième session le thème « De la Modernité aux Modernités« . Tenter de couvrir les contradictions de la modernité, interroger le présent à la lumière du passé, contrecarrer les amalgames entre modernité et renouveau seront au cœur du débat sur la modernité comme modèle idéal de promotion des individus et des sociétés dans un contexte mondialisé des civilisations qui crée la confusion dans les esprits et fait naître le sentiment d’insécurité et de doute dans un monde à haut risque.

La session couvre les axes suivants :

  1. Modernité : références théoriques et intellectuelles
  2. Représentation de la modernité et de la modernisation
  3. Modernité et tradition : interprétations antagonistes
  4. Modernité et pensée arabe
  5. Modernité et religion
  6. Modernité et pensée marocaine
  7. Modernité, droit et institutions
  8. Les effets de la modernité et la question sociale
  9. Modernité et situation de la femme
  10. La modernité et la question des valeurs
  11. Lart, linnovation et le postmodernisme